The Council for Education in the Commonwealth (CEC)


c/o The Association of Commonwealth Universities Woburn House
20–24 Tavistock Square London WC1H 9HF UK



Year established: 1959

Number of members: 162 (subscribing and honorary)

Annual expenditure: c. £7,000 in 2014

Officers (2015):

Patrons: Lord Boswell of Aynho; Lord Judd of Portsea;
Lord Luce of Adur; Lord McNally of Blackpool

Parliamentary Chairs: Simon Hughes MP; David Lammy MP; Gavin Williamson MP

Executive Chair: Rosemary Preston Deputy Executive Chair: Neil Kemp Honorary Treasurer: Sonny Leong

Aims and objectives:

The CEC is committed to:

• The urgent expansion and improvement of education and training throughout the Commonwealth at all levels

• Mobilising the UK public, government and parliament to challenge Commonwealth-wide gaps in educational provision, wherever they occur

• Influencing CCEMs, CHOGMs and other ministerial meetings

• Engaging governments in educational policy and development

• Providing a forum for informed discussion, analysis and development of educational policy and practice as issues arise

Main activities:

• Annual conference and other meetings on emerging educational issues

• The annual Gladwyn Lecture, presented in parliament by an eminent speaker

• Engaging the British government and parliament in advocacy to promote education for all Commonwealth children and peoples

• Production of Commonwealth Education News three or four times a year

• The convening of ad hoc working groups to examine issues of contemporary concern and prepare reports, studies and publications for the CEC, the Secretariat and other bodies

Recent publications:

Bown, L., Ed. (2009). Maintaining universal primary education: Lessons from Commonwealth Africa. London: Commonwealth Secretariat

For a full list, see