Commonwealth Education Good Practice Awards


c/o The Coordinator
Health and Education Unit Commonwealth Secretariat Marlborough House
Pall Mall
London SW1Y 5HX

Telephone: (44) 20 7747 6500

Fax: (44) 20 7747 6223


Year established: 2006

Aims and objectives:

Education Ministers at 15CCEM in October 2003 committed to recognising promising practices identified in Commonwealth member countries, based on six Action Areas. This agreement led to the launch of the first round of the Commonwealth Education Good Practice Awards that culminated at 16CCEM in 2006.

An Education Good Practice is defined as a programme, project, policy or strategy that has made a positive difference to primary or secondary school students, their teachers, or the education system of a country in respect of one or more of the Action Areas. Finalists are selected by a jury of education specialists representative of the Commonwealth’s diversity.

Main activities:

The second Awards were presented at 17CCEM in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in 2009. The third Awards were launched in April 2011, and culminated in
the selection and celebration of the winners at the 18CCEM in Mauritius in August 2012; 120 entries were received for the 2012 Awards, representing 27 countries.

The Action Areas for the upcoming 2015 award (Nassau, The Bahamas) include:

• Achieving universal primary education
• Eliminating gender disparities in education
• Improving quality in education
• Mitigating the impact of HIV on education
• Supporting education in difficult circumstances • Using distance learning to overcome barriers • Using education to promote sustainable development, e.g. climate change • Promoting civil pathways to peace